Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NSHS Logo

Research: Databases

Databases

Below you will find links to databases and other resources, categorized by subject. If you need passwords, click on the passwords link above. To read a description of each resource, hover over its link. Or click here for a list of guides for specific classes. For more help, please ask one of the librarians, or click on the help link above.

General

Newspapers

For access to the New York Times daily digital newspaper, follow the instructions on the passwords page -- scroll all the way down to Newspapers, The New York Times

For access to international newspapers, requires Boston Public Library card and account, available free, online, for all MA residents here.

Academic Journals

Google Scholar Search

Video Streaming

History & Social Sciences

Language & Literature

Science & Math

Lion Lookup

NSHS seal Lion Lookup

 


 

 

This is a new tool the library is testing. Let us know what you think. Please fill out this short survey

eBooks for Research

  From NSHS Destiny Discover in a browser
1. In the upper right-hand corner, log in using your student ID and password.
2. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.
3. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

  From NSHS Destiny Discover on a phone
1. Choose your school

2.Log in using your student ID and password.
3. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

4. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

 

Large collection of e-books in a wide range of subject areas.
Click on the Passwords tab at the left for remote login information.

Small collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. After login, you will be able to read title immediately in browser.

Find Newton South High School in the drop down list, then use the username and password from the Passwords tab at the left.

sample titles:

My Antonia by Will Cather
If You Really Love Me by Anne Schaft
Asthma by Wendy Murphy
Discovering Atoms by Margaret Campbell
Latinos Today by Thomas Arkham
Story of Facebook by Sara Gilbert

E-books in subject areas: Literature, History, Science, and Health.
Click on the Passwords tab at the left for remote login information.

What is a database?

Newton South High School Library

140 Brandeis Road
Newton, MA 02459
call: (617) 559-6561
nshslibrary@newton.k12.ma.us