Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Central High School Library

Teacher resources

Newton Public Schools Staff Technology Resources 2020 This is a comprehensive list of our technology resources for Distance Learning. Here is a direct link to NPS paid tech tool how to's

Complete list of all Research Resources from NSHS  including Gale databases, ABC-CLIO, newspapers, primary sources.

User names and passwords for databases You need to be logged in to your NPS Google account to access this page.

You Tube

Multi-Discipline

Bitmoji Scene Tools Brainpop

Dogo News ELA, Science, and Social Studies K-12 

Primary Source fosters students’ knowledge, skills, and enthusiasm to become engaged global  citizens. 

EDPuzzle 
Create videos for self-paced learning and/or use videos from

Khan Academy, You Tube, and more 

Flipgrid

Teachers post discussion prompts and students respond with short videos.

Includes a library of ready to use topics.

Kahoot Kami 

National Museum of African American History and Culture  Explores The history of race through thoughtful, productive conversations

Listenwise 3-6 minute podcasts in ELA, Science, Social Studies, and current events. Nonfiction.
Nearpod New York Times Learning Network
Newsela NewseumED.org Many free resource for First Amendment and media literacy skills essential to civic life. 
 PBS Learning Media Padlet
Poll Everywhere Project Zero Thinking routines

Quizlet 

create study aids including flashcards, games, and quizes

Read, Write, Think.org Lesson plans, including min-lessons, units, interactive activities, Printouts, standards alignment
Loom Be sure to sign up through NPS email for free pro educator account Voicethread

WeVideo 

Students create videos to express their ideas. Includes Green screen, backgrounds, templates 

WGBH Distance Learning center grades 9-12

20-60 minutes online lessons in math, Social studies, English Language Arts, and Science sharable to Google Classroom

 WNET.org Education Flagship station of PBS   

ARTS

Google arts and culture

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

Metropolitan Museum of Art online collection

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Virtual tours of museums throughout the world

History

Best websites for U.S. history From Common Sense Media

World History for us all From UCLA.edu for K-12

World History Encyclopedia 

ELA

Teaching Books a great resource for author video, audio, and print interviews. Also lesson plan templates for books, book guides and booklists. Search by grade level, genres, curricular areas, cultural areas.

NPS video directions  NPS written directions

The importance of audio books and read alouds

SORA ebooks and audiobooks

Anti-Racism

Anti-Racism resources for students and teachers NNHS Library

Anti-Asian resources for your classroom from WNET.org

Asian-American Timeline This timeline covers nearly 600 years of history starting with the early Atlantic slave trade in the 15th Century, tracing the rise of modern nation-states, and covering events that have affected people across racial boundaries.

Facing History and ourselves

Black History Resources multi-discipline Collaborative project from NPS,BPS, and LPS

GBH Racism: coverage and context Includes many streaming episodes from American Experience, American Masters, frontline, and more.

Learning for Justice.org

Math

Desmos

IXL math

That Quiz

Engage NY

Health, Wellness, and SEL  

CASEL competencies Core SEL competencies

GoNoodle Mindfulness

Teen Health and wellness

Teen Health.org

Learn experience happiness educator page

Families for Depression Awareness

Explore SEL Harvard Study

RULER Evidence based approach to Social Emotional learning developed at Yale

Berkeley Greater Good Science Center

Media Literacy

Common Sense Media.org 

Media Literacy

Digital Research Collections

Newton Central High School Library

Newton, MA 02460
Librarian: kosmoc@newton.k12.ma.us