Skip to main content

Central High School Library

Passwords

Click on the linked passwords folder for passwords to access our databases from the menu choices . You will not need to use a password when using these resources at school. You will need them when logging in from your personal devices at home.  

eBooks and audiobooks for pleasure reading

OverdDrive app icon‚Äč

ChromeBook/MacBook:
OverDrive is available as a Google App from your Google Drive. You can read eBooks in your browser and listen to audiobooks. This is also a great way to browse and check out titles that you can later access on a phone or tablet.

 

SmartPhone or Tablet:

 

  1. Install the OverDrive app from your device’s app store
  2. Sign up for an OverDrive account using a valid email address.
  3. In the app settings, toggle on the option “Sign in using Safari"
  4. In the app menu, select “Add a library” and search for Newton -- make sure you select Newton Public Schools from the list
  5. Select MLS Commonwealth eBook Collection.
  6. Select Newton Public Schools from the dropdown list.
  7. Sign in with your NPS Google account.
  8. Sign in with your school ID/password (Single Sign On).
  9. Feel free to add your public library too.

Ask a librarian for help getting OverDrive set up!

  From NSHS Destiny Discover in a browser
1. Log in using the user name and password in our red password folder.

2. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

3. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

  From NSHS Destiny Discover on a phone
1. Choose your school  

2. Log in using your student ID and password.
3. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

4. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

 

 

Small collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. After login, you will be able to read title immediately in browser.

In the site box, start typing Newton and select Newton South High School. Then use our username and password from the red password folder.

sample titles:
My Antonia by Will Cather
If You Really Love Me by Anne Schaft
Asthma by Wendy Murphy
Discovering Atoms by Margaret Campbell
Latinos Today by Thomas Arkham
Story of Facebook by Sara Gilbert

If you are looking for any of the classics this is a website that has lots of free books in ebook format. 

Project Gutenberg

From the Website: Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

 

 

 

Hoopla Digital

From the website: Hoopla is a groundbreaking digital media service offered by your local public library that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. We have hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from, with more being added daily. hoopla is like having your public library at your fingertips. Anytime. Anywhere.

Access this resource with your library card. If you do not have a library card you can apply for one here. We are fortunate to have a wonderful library here in Newton. it is part of the Minuteman Library network and a library card will give you access to books, movies, newspapers, magazines, events, and more. When you get your library card you can create an online account that allows you to request items from other libraries if it is not available in Newton.

Apply online for a library card

 

Loading ...

eBooks for research

  From NSHS Destiny Discover in a browser
1. Log in using your student ID and password.

2. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

3. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

  From NSHS Destiny Discover on a phone
1. Choose your school

2.Log in using your student ID and password.
3. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

4. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

 

Large collection of e-books in a wide range of subject areas.
Click on the Passwords folder if you are accessing from home. From School you will probably not need it.

Small collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. After login, you will be able to read title immediately in browser.

Find Newton South High School in the drop down list, then use the username and password from the Passwords tab at the left.

sample titles:

My Antonia by Will Cather
If You Really Love Me by Anne Schaft
Asthma by Wendy Murphy
Discovering Atoms by Margaret Campbell
Latinos Today by Thomas Arkham
Story of Facebook by Sara Gilbert

E-books in subject areas: Literature, History, Science,Health, and careers.
Click on the Password folder for login information.

Loading ...

online textbooks

Find usernames and passwords on Passwords link above. Ask your teacher about additional access information.

Find usernames and passwords on Passwords link above. Ask your teacher about additional access information.

Find usernames and passwords on Passwords link above. Ask your teacher about additional access information.

Loading ...

Newton Central High School Library

Newton, MA 02460
Librarian: kosmoc@newton.k12.ma.us