2018 Summer Reading:
NNHS Library Learning Commons - Summer Reading Suggestions
NSHS Summer Reading 2018- One School, One Question
Young Writers - creative writing contests for high schoolers
Early Autumn by Robert B. Parker
author information
Authors and Artists for Young Adults: Robert B. Parker
Contemporary Popular Writers: Robert B. Parker: Overview
Robert B. Parker: The Dean of American Crime Fiction
Literary resources
Twenty-first Century Novels: The First Decade "Spenser" Series
Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
background and literary resources
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. The Catcher in the Rye
Literature and Its Times: Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them. The Catcher in the Rye
Gale, Literary Sources: Literature Criticism - The Catcher in the Rye
[note: password newtonnorth]
Author information
The American Decades: 1950-1959 J. D. Salinger
St. James Guide to Young Adult Writers. J.D. Salinger
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
Background information
Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 literary works and the historical events that influenced them. (World War II to the affluent fifties) Lord of the Flies
World Literature and Its Times: Profiles of notable literary works and the historical events that influenced them. (British and Irish Literature) Lord of the Flies
Author information
Biography in Context William Golding
Literary resources
Gale Literature Resource Center: Criticisms; Topic and Work Overview;
[note: password newtonnorth]
Macbeth by William Shakespeare
databases:
Encyclopedia Britannica Macbeth
ebooks:
Shakespeare for Students: Macbeth Critical interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry.
Literature and Its Times: Macbeth
websites:
60 Second STAR: Macbeth. BBC 60 second Shakespeare 'tabloid'. Archived site.
Shakespeare's Macbeth Teacher's Resource Guide, Nicole Kempskie. Lincoln Center Theater.
A Teacher's Guide to Macbeth. Signet Classics
Macbeth resources PBS Learning Media
Vocabulary: Macbethwordsearch. PBSLearningMedia.org
Shakespeare insult kit. Class activity. Owlcation.com
Movie versions:
Macbeth on Screen: 7 great film version of Shakespeare's classic tragedy
Scotland, PA Wikipedia summary
401 Prompts for Argumentative Writing NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
Picture Prompts NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
Student Opinion NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
What's Going On in This Picture? NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
Writing a Book Review Guidelines Purdue OWL
2018 Summer Reading:
NNHS Library Learning Commons - Summer Reading Suggestions
NSHS Summer Reading 2018- One School, One Question
Young Writers - creative writing contests for high schoolers
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Database:
Literature and its Times: Fahrenheit 451: The Temperature at Which Books Burns
Literature Resource Center An Overview of Fahrenheit 451
Literature Resource Center Ray Bradbury: Overview
author information:
Biography in Context: Ray Bradbury
Science Fiction Novelists: Ray Bradbury
articles:
Does Paper Really Burn at 451 Degrees Fahrenheit?: Fact-checking the late Ray Bradbury. Brian Palmer Slate.com
Torching the Library: Different Year, Same Temperature Rob New York Times, March 2006
websites:
Ray Bradbury.com
CourseHero.com Fahrenheit 451 Study guide, analysis, infographics, etc.
--requires free membership login--
Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
author information
Jeannette Walls - Biography in Context -- reference, articles, news, journals
Jeannette Walls- Contemporary Authors Online
reading guide
The Glass Castle reading group guide - Simon & Schuster
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
databases:
Encyclopedia Britannica: Hamlet
ebooks:
Shakespeare for Students: Hamlet Critical interpretations of Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry.
Literature and Its Times: Hamlet
websites:
A Teacher Guide to Hamlet. Signet Classics
Hamlet Resources: PBSLearning Media
Gig: Americans talk about their jobs by John Bowe, ed. et al
Occupational Outlook Handbook U.S. Dept. of Labor
How Americans View Their Jobs Pew Research Center
Summer Reading:
NNHS Library Learning Commons - Summer Reading Suggestions
NSHS Summer Reading 2018- One School, One Question
The Invisible Man by H.G.Wells
author information
H. G. Wells Biography in Context
The Outline of History St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
literary resources
The Invisible Man and the Invisible Hand Literature Resource Center
reading guides
The Invisible Man coursehero.com Infographic and more
Penguin Random House Reading Guide
The Invisible Man: a grotesque romance summary eNotes.com
Scroll down to view the submitted questions and more questions.
articles
As long as books have existed, invisibility has been a dream. Smithsonian Magazine
A History of Classic Monsters: The Invisible Man LibraryPoint.org
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Background information
Literary Newsmakers for Students Provides analysis and criticism of recent novels and other works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and drama. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Country Reports: Cultural, Historical, Statistical, Country Information Afghanistan
Author information
Biography in Context Khaled Hosseini
Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah
background information
Country Reports: Sierra Leone
Author information
Biography in Context: Ishmael Beah
Literary resources
Gale, Literary Sources: Reviews and News - A Long Way Gone: memoirs of a boy soldier
[note: password newtonnorth]
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
eBooks:
Enc. of American Literature John Steinbeck
Literature and Its Times Of Mice and Men
websites:
National Steinbeck Center - His Works
TeenReads.com - Of Mice and Men
Things They Carried by Tim O'Brien
background information
ABC-CLIO World at War: Topic Center: Vietnam War
- database resource with an overview, reference articles, media, timeline, etc.
[note: username and password newtonshs1]
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace -- The Things They Carried
- ebook article with themes, historical overview, criticism, etc.
Literary resources
Literature and Its Times supp.1: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them. The Things They Carried
Literature Resource Ctr: Critical essays, interviews for The Things They Carried, Tim O'Brien
Americans at War: Fiction and Memoirs, Vietnam
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace -- The Things They Carried
- ebook article with themes, historical overview, criticism, etc.
Author information
Biography in Context: Tim O'Brien
- biography and links to news, magazine articles, and media about Tim O'Brien
NPR / Talk of the Nation 'The Things They Carried': 20 Years On
- On-air radio interview with Tim O'Brien. March 24, 2010. (~30 mins)
401 Prompts for Argumentative Writing NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
Picture Prompts NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
Student Opinion NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
What's Going On in This Picture? NYTimes.com (The Learning Network)
Writing a Book Review Guidelines Purdue OWL
How to read a graphic novel or comic by Jonathan Wilson
Reading Lessons: Graphic Novels 101 by Hollis Margaret Rudiger
Understanding comics : transitions and gutters
Understanding comics : show vs tell
gutters: the space between panels
When I Say "Graphic Novel": what do you think of?
An online SlideShare showing the elements of a graphic novel.
online tools:
Emojipedia Good source for examples of emotions using emojis.
Grimace project App 
Drawing Words and Writing Pictures
99x: exercises in style by Matt Madden Excerpts from the book.
http://mattmadden.com/comics/99x/
A Guide to Using Graphic Novels with Children and Teens. Scholastic
CBLDF (Comic Book Legal Defense Fund) an American non-profit organization formed in 1986 to protect the First Amendment rights of comics creators, publishers, and retailers covering legal expenses. CBLDF.org has news and resources for comic books (graphic novels).
(All titles below are available from NNHS and/or NSHS libraries.)
Using Graphic Novels in Education: American Born Chinese
Using Graphic Novels in Education: Boxers & Saints
Using Graphic Novels in Education: Drama
Using Graphic Novels in Education: El Deafo
Using Graphic Novels in Education: March, book one
Using Graphic Novels in Education: Ms. Marvel
Using Graphic Novels in Education: Persepolis
NoFlyingNoTights.com Robin Brenner, Librarian Brookline Public Library.
Robin Brenner: "We here at No Flying No Tights know that comics and graphic novels have a long and rich history. This column will be devoted to highlighting the older titles that we dub classics of the format. There are so many landmark titles. We aim to highlight the place of each title in the graphic novel and comic canon and help everyone understand just why this particular title deserves its place."
(All titles below are available from NNHS and/or NSHS libraries.)
Classic Fantastic: Ms. Marvel by Amy Estersohn
Classic Fantastic: Sandman by Bonnie Svitavsky
Classic Fantastic: Watchmen by Allen Kesinger
Classic Fantastic: Maus and Metamaus by Brazos Price
Will Eisner
Biography in Context: Will Eisner
Neil Gaiman
Biography in Context: Neil Gaiman
Gareth Hinds
Biography in Context: Gareth Hinds
Marjane Satrapi
Biography in Context: Marjane Satrapi
Art Speigelman
Biography in Context: Art Speigelman
Shaun Tan
Biography in Context: Shaun Tan
Gene Luen Yang
Biography in Context: Gene Luen Yang
How I use comic books as a learning tool in my social studies classroom by Tim Smyth
How bringing comics into the classroom made me love teaching again by Tim Smyth
An introduction to the Graphic Novel by Vicky Maloy U of Iowa 2010
https://ir.uiowa.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1013&context=bsides
Favorite Poem Project Americans saying poems they love.
Fishhouse Poems: an audio archive of emerging poets
Tyehimba Jess - winner 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry and 2016 National Book Critics Circle Award
Library of Congress: Poetry and Literature Poetry of America - readings and commentary
Performance / Slam Poetry: Sarah Kay performs "Jellyfish"
Poetry Out Loud videos poetryoutloud.org
Ozymandias by Percy Shelley Read by rapper, poet Dizraeli
We Real Cool by Gwendolyn Brooks. Read by John Ulrich. Favorite Poem Project
Academy of American Poets https://www.poets.org/
Browse poets and poems by themes
Imagine our parks with poems
Poem-A-Day
Library of Congress: Poetry and Literature
Poetry 180 - A Poem a Day for American High Schools, Hosted by Billy Collins, U.S. Poet Laureate, 2001-2003
The Poetry Archive poets, criticisms, teaching
Poetry Out Loud / poems and poets http://www.poetryoutloud.org/
TeenInk : magazine, website, and books written by teens since 1989 http://www.teenink.com
Found poetry project - NYT
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/05/learning/lesson-plans/reader-idea-how-the-found-poem-can-inspire-. . .
Blackout Poetry (aka erasure poetry):
Blackout Poetry John DePasquale. Scholastic.com
Blackout Poetry examples, ideas. Pinterest.com
22 Ways to Teach and Learn About Poetry with the New York Times / NYTimes.com
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/03/learning/lesson-plans/22-ways-to-teach-and-learn-about-poetry-
24 must share poems for middle and high school / WeAreTeachers.com
https://www.weareteachers.com/24-must-share-poems-for-middle-school-and-high-school/
Lessons: Poetry gr. 9-12 / ArtsEdge The Kennedy Center
http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/educators/lessons?facet:GradeBandName=9-12&q=poetry#results
Lesson plans / Poets.org
https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/lesson-plans
Tips for teaching poetry / Poets.org
https://www.poets.org/national-poetry-month/tips-teaching-poetry
Lesson plans / PoetryArchive.org also see: classroom collections and classroom materials
http://www.poetryarchive.org/teach-poetry/lesson-plans
Lesson plans / PoetryOutLoud.org
http://www.poetryoutloud.org/teaching-resources/lesson-plans
Does Poetry Matter?
NYTimes.com The Opinion Pages / Room for Debate
Five Reasons Why We Need Poetry in Schools.
Elena Aguilar. Edutopia.org 'George Lucas Education Foundation'
Well Versed: Why Teaching Poetry Matters.
Suzi Parker. Takepart.com Teach Series.
Via GVRL (access password: pawprints)
Poetry Encyclopedia of the New American Nation
American Poetry World Eras, vol. 5.: the Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850
Popular Poetry American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Popular Poetry American History Through Literature 1870-1920
Lyric Poetry American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Lyric Poetry American History Through Literature 1870-1920
Poetry American Decades: 1920-1929
Poetry Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age: from the end of WWI to the Great Crash
Poetry Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
Poetry Postwar America: an encyclopedia of social, political, cultural, and economic history
To Bedlam and Back: the New American Poetry Amercian Decades: 1960-1969
Poetry Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Poetry, U.S. Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
list of articles: Poetry - world, cultural
Gale databases (access password: pawprints)
Research in Context: poetry.
Overview, reference articles, audio, creative works, magazines, biographies, news, ...
Research in Context: Gwendolyn Brooks
Encyclopedia Britannica
Poetry Introduction, Attempts to define, form, . . .
[NOTE: view all reading levels 1,2,3]
Sound and Rhyme. Purdue Online Writing Lab
Newton, MA 02460
Librarian: kosmoc@newton.k12.ma.us