Ms Perkinson - Informative Speech/TEDTalk: Overview

Bibliography :
A list of writings (or other information resources) used or considered by an author in preparing a particular work.*

Whenever you do research, you must give credit to those people who proposed unique ideas or provided special information that you incorporate into your research product. Often the supporting evidence you cite will come from the work of others. It is your responsibility to acknowledge the original authors or researchers for their words, ideas or images.

Your bibliography is an alphabetical listing of the resources you used in your research. You must include detailed information about each resource such as the author, title, publisher and copyright date. When no author is listed, then use the title of the resource to alphabetize your bibliography. Newton South High School follows the Modern Language Association(MLA) format. Examples of many types of information resources can be found here. Pay close attention to punctuation, indention, and spacing. Every detail is important. Following these guidelines will ensure that your bibliographic format is correct. All departments at Newton South have endorsed this bibliography document.

*Definitions from American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, ©1992

A Works Cited page contains a list of citations for all the works you will cite in your text.

A Bibliography page contains a list of citations for all the works you used for your research.

• Works Cited page(s) are placed at the end of your research paper.
• Center the title, Works Cited, an inch from the top of the page.
• Double space between the title and first citation entry.
• Use a one inch left and right margins
• If the citation entry runs more than one line, indent the subsequent line or lines a half inch(hanging indention). 
• Double space between and within citation entries.
• Alphabetize the list by author. If there is no author, use the title for alphabetizing.

Plagiarize

1. To use or pass off as one's own (the ideas or writings of another)
2. To appropriate for use as one's own passages or ideas from (another). To put forth as original to oneself the ideas or words of another*

Plagiarism is the unacknowledged use of the ideas, words or images of another person. High schools and colleges across America expect students and researchers to document all of the information sources they use. Many schools provide guidelines for avoiding plagiarism, including yours. Newton South High School has a "Plagiarism Policy" that is included in The Orange Lion. Every student should review it. To avoid any suspicion of plagiarism, be sure to give credit where credit is due. Acknowledge all interviews, images, and other people's words or ideas when you submit your work.

Whenever you are uncertain, be sure to ask your teacher or librarian. Always keep in mind that it is better to document a source than to omit documentation.

*Definitions from American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, ©1992