McNally / Wildman- Zinger Choice Project #1 - 2025

• Sakoku

  An article about the policy from the Encyclopedia Britannica.

• An Isolated Japan

  An article discussing the history of Japanese trade with Europe from The Perry Expedition and the Opening of Japan in the Infobase: Modern World History database.

• Sakoku

  An article discussing the "closed country," foreign policy of the Tokugawa bakufu. From the ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era database.

Helpful keywords:

• Silver trade

• Globalization

• Portuguese 

• Shimbara Revolt

• Spice Islands and Spice Trade

• Dutch East India Company

• Yellow-orange Human Drama - pp.162-163

Why did Christine di Pisan (or de Pizan) become a writer and one who wrote about women? 

• Biographical articles will be the most useful

• Medieval women

• Article comparing di Pisan to Taylor Swift 

• Biographical article

• di Pisan quote

Why did King John sign the Magna Carta? 

• John

  Overview article on King John in the Britannica School database. Use the numbered guide at the top of the article to adjust the reading level. Use command or control F to search for the word Magna to jump to sections on the Magna Carta.

• King John

  Biographical article about King John in the ABC-CLIO World History - Ancient and Medieval database.

• John

  Biographical article about King John in the Encyclopedia of World Biography Online found in the Gale Biography in Context database.

• Feudalism

• Barons

• Limited Government

• Red Human Drama - p. 259

• Yellow-orange Human Drama - pp. 76-77

Why did Catherine the Great choose to get vaccinated (called variolated in her time) against smallpox?

• Catherine’s vaccination

• Smallpox in Russia

• Enlightened Despotism

• CNN article about a letter Catherine wrote

• Another article

Why did Pope Paul V force Galileo to recant his scientific writings?

• Biographical article on Pope Paul V

• Article on the intersection of Cosmology and Religion

• Scientific Revolution

• Heliocentric and Geocentric models

• Copernicus

• Printing Press

• Medici Family

• Yellow-orange Human Drama - pp. 65-66

Why did Louis XIV “cage” the nobility at his Versailles Palace? 

• Louis, XIV

  Biography article from the Encyclopedia of World Biography

• Louis XIV

  A topic page in Gale in Context: World History. Browse articles or use the search within box to narrow down article selection.

• Louis XIV Moves His Court to Versailles

  An eBook article -- note links to other articles in the right sidebar.

• French Monarchy in the 17th and 18th Centuries

  This book chapter on the French monarchy has a long section about Louis XIV and Versailles.

• Absolutism

• The Fronde (rebellion)

• The Sun King

• Yellow-orange Human Drama - pp. 81-84

Why did Vladimir convert the Kievan Rus to Eastern Orthodox Christianity?

• Vladimir I

  Overview article about Vladimir I in Britannica School database.

• Kievan Rus: the first Russian empire

  An article that discusses the rise the Kievan Rus empire from the European Nations encyclopedia in the Infobase: Modern World History database.

• Vladimir I

  A biography of Prince Vladimir from the ABC-CLIO World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy database.

Helpful Keywords:

• Byzantine Empire

• Eastern Orthodoxy

• Cyrillic Alphabet

• Eastern Slavs

Why did Frederick protect Martin Luther from the Catholic Church?

• Protestant Reformation

• 95 Theses

• Frederick III (Frederick the Wise)

• Holy Roman Empire and Charles V

• Witteberg

• Martin Luther (another article)

Helpful keywords and links:

• Fall of the Ming

• Li Zicheng (rebel)

• Manchu

• Qing Dynasty