NSHS guides: 9th Choice Project #2 Guiding Questions: Greiner, McNally, Murdock, Wildman-Zinger: 9th Choice Project #2 Guiding Questions: Greiner, McNally, Murdock, Wildman-Zinger

Accessing articles and videos

You may need a login and password to access the articles and videos posted here. Click on the passwords button at the top of the page for a list of database passwords.

Databases

Looking for more information? Use the databases below to search for resources on your topic.

FactCite This link opens in a new window
*Trial database
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Infobase: Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window
Infobase: Modern World History This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO / World History : Ancient/Medieval This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO / World History : Modern This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO History Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO / World at War This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO / World Religions This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Infobase: Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window

John
Overview article on King John in the Britannica School database. Use the numbered guide at the top of the article to adjust the reading level. Use command or control F to search for the word Magna to jump to sections on the Magna Carta.
King John
Biographical article about King John in the ABC-CLIO World History - Ancient and Medieval database.
John
Biographical article about King John in the Encyclopedia of World Biography Online found in the Gale Biography in Context database.

Magna Carta, with David Starkey
Hour long program from BBC Learning Worldwide from the CVOD database (see video segments in the right margin).
Crooked King John and the Magna Carta
29 minute video from BBC Worldwide Learning's Horrible Histories series, 2015 from CVOD database.

Why did Louis XIV “cage” the nobility at his Versailles Palace?

Articles
Videos

Louis, XIV
Biography article from the Encyclopedia of World Biography
Louis XIV
A topic page in Gale in Context: World History. Browse articles or use the search within box to narrow down article selection.
Louis XIV Moves His Court to Versailles
An eBook article -- note links to other articles in the right sidebar.
French Monarchy in the 17th and 18th Centuries
This book chapter on the French monarchy has a long section about Louix XIV and Versailles.

From Classroom Video on Demand.

Learning to Become King

Click on the passwords button at the top of the page to get the password for the Classroom Video On Demand database. If you need the password for the passwords page, please contact a librarian.

Why did Vladimir convert the Kievan Rus to Christianity?

Articles
Videos

Vladimir I
Overview article about Vladimir I in Britannica School database.
Kievan Rus: the first Russian empire
An article that discusses the rise the Kievan Rus empire from the European Nations encyclopedia in the Infobase: Modern World History database.
Vladimir I
A biography of Prince Vladimir from the ABC-CLIO World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy database.

Establishing Russian Christianity
A segment from the the BBC Documentary Into the Light: History of the World in the Classroom Video on Demand database.
Kievan Rus
A segment from the BBC documentary Out of the Forest: The Art of Russia in the Classroom Video on Demand database.

Why did the Japanese Shogun ban European merchants?

Articles
Videos

Sakoku
An article about the policy from the Encyclopedia Britannica.
An Isolated Japan
An article discussing the history of Japanese trade with Europe from The Perry Expedition and the Opening of Japan in the Infobase: Modern World History database.
Sakoku
An article discussing the "closed country," foreign policy of the Tokugawa bakufu. From the ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era database.

Sakoku
A video segment from the BBC documentary Age of Plunder: History of the World in the Classroom Video on Demand database.
Japan Closes Its Doors to the World
A segment from the documentary Japan Past and Present in the Classroom Video on Demand database.

Websites

SweetSearch SweetSearch is a Search Engine for Students. Its results have been evaluated by a staff of research experts, librarians, and teachers. You will get fewer - but more accurate! - results.

See tips here for evaluating websites for school work. Do not use websites that do not pass the evaluation criteria! Be very careful when you cite websites in NoodleTools. You will most likely need to create the citation manually by completing the NoodleTools form, since most websites do not have pre-formatted citations for you to copy or export to NoodleTools. In NoodleTools, select Website for your new source, and most of the time you will select webpage from the list (i.e., most of the time you are simply citing a particular page on a website). There is a video on How to cite a website on the library's Cite Your Sources page.

9th Choice Project #2 Guiding Questions: Greiner, McNally, Murdock, Wildman-Zinger

Quick Links