NSHS guides: New Media: Industrial Revolution: New Media: Industrial Revolution

Suggested Articles and Videos

Below you will find a few suggested articles and videos to get you started on your research. If you are still looking for information, try searching the databases listed below.

The Population Bomb
In the 1960s, fears of overpopulation sparked campaigns for population control. But whatever became of the population bomb? A video from The New York Times.
Are falling birth rates a good thing for the world?
A pro/con debate from the Infobase: Issues & Controversies database. Includes arguments, statistics, reference articles and more.
History of Birth Control
An article from the Encyclopedia of Population in the Gale U.S. History in Context database.
Family Planning
An overview and history article in New Dictionary of the History of Ideas in the Gale eBooks database.
Thomas Robert Malthus
A biography article from Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire in the Gale eBooks database.
Margaret Sanger
An article from World of Health in the Gale Science in Context database.
The Discovery and Importance of Penicillin and the Development of Sulfa Drugs
An article from Science and its Times in the Gale Science in Context database.
Female Contraception
On May 9, 1960, the FDA approved the first birth control pill; over 100 million women worldwide use birth control pills today. Alexander Sanger discusses the last years of his grandmother's life and backlash against women's health care. Margaret Sanger is often vilified for early views on Eugenics. A segment from the documentary "Revolution—The Ascent of Woman: A 10,000 Year Story" in Classroom Video on Demand.
Gale Health and Wellness: Birth Control
The topic center for this subject includes reference, news and magazine articles, videos, academic journals and more. Focuses on the subject from a science and medical perspective.
Gale in Context Global Issues: Family Planning
The topic center for this subject includes reference, news, and magazine articles, videos and more. Focuses on the subject from a global perspective.

Below you will find a few suggested articles and videos to get you started on your research. If you are still looking for information, try searching the databases listed below.

The Third Industrial Revolution
An article from The Economist in the Gale World History in context database.
Today's Schools Are Yesterday's Streetcars: How Technology Will Transform Education
An article from the Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.
Reported Effects of Social Media Use among US Adolescents, 2018
An infographic of data from the Pew Research Center in the the Gale Opposing Viewpoints database.
Luddites
An article from the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences in the Gale World History in Context database.
Technophobia
An article from the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences in the Gale World History in Context database.
Y2K
An article from The Gale Encyclopedia of Science in the Gale Science in Context database.
Technology and Health
The Topic Center in the Gale Global Issues in the Context database includes articles from newspapers magazines, encyclopedias; videos, statistics and more.
Technology and Society
A Topic Center from the Gale Opposing Viewpoints database. Reference and newspaper articles, viewpoints, statistics, videos and more.

Below you will find a few suggested articles and videos to get you started on your research. If you are still looking for information, try searching the databases listed below.

Global Warming, Water Scarcity, and their Impact on Human Societies
2017 video from the BBC in the Gale Global Issues in Context database.
Before the Flood
How much time do we have before our ecosystem collapses? National Geographic documentary from 2016 available in the Classroom Video on Demand database from Infobase.
"Human activity putting one million species at risk of extinction, says UN"
The stark warning comes after a UN study outlined the damage being done to the natural world. 2019 article in the Belfast Telegraph newspaper in the Gale Global Issues in Context database.
Mass Extinctions
A viewpoint article in the Gale Global Issues in Context database about the idea that we are in the process of a sixth mass extinction.
Overpopulation
A "research starter" article on overpopulation in the 2019 Salem Press Encyclopedia from the EBSCO Lion Lookup database search engine.
The Population Bomb?
In the 1960s, fears of overpopulation sparked campaigns for population control. But whatever became of the population bomb? Video from the Classroom Video on Demand database from Infobase
Paul Ehrlich and The Population Bomb
Full length video from 1996 available on the Classroom Video On Demand database from Infobase.
Global Environmental Issues
This 2020 article has a section on "overpopulation" -- search the page to jump to it. Found in the Gale Global Issues database.
"The population bomb is back--with a global warming twist: hunger, poverty, environmental degradation and violent conflict are just some ills that the elites have blamed on the poor since the days of 18th century social scientist Thomas Malthus..."
This 2009 article in Women in Action discusses the notion of the population bomb from the lens of reproductive justice.

Below you will find a few suggested articles to get you started on your research. If you are still looking for information, try searching the databases listed below.

"Grand vision: Federal Railroad Administrator Joe Szabo speaks candidly on his past, stimulus funding, Amtrak and the vision of future of rail in the United States"
An article from Gale Academic OneFile.
"Money train: in California, Obama's grand vision of America's high-speed rail future is confronting reality"
An article from Gale Literature Resource Center.
All aboard! the future of railroads, subways, and smart cities: The rise of the Internet of Things and smart cities will increase our reliance on the rail system and how modern rails and subways are being constructed
An article from Gale Academic OneFile.

Below you will find a few suggested articles and videos to get you started on your research. If you are still looking for information, try searching the databases listed below.

Assembly line (manufacturing)
A "research starter" article on assembly lines in the 2019 Salem Press Encyclopedia from the EBSCO Lion Lookup database search engine.
"Ford reduces production line injury rate by 70 percent for its more than 50,000 ‘industrial athletes'"

A video clip from an A & E documentary: Modern Marvels: Assembly Lines. Ford spent millions revolutionizing manufacturing, but workers became frustrated with the monotonous, repetitive, fast-paced work; turnover at these plants reached 380 percent by the end of 1913; unskilled workers were expendable. From Classroom Video on Demand.

New Media: Industrial Revolution

Quick Links

Accessing articles and videos

Suggested Articles and Videos

Databases

Lion Lookup

Newton South High School Library