Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NSHS Logo

eBooks & Audiobooks

Sora for eBooks and Audiobooks

Guide to finding a book with Sora

 

 

Searching in Sora

Placing holds in Sora

Your virtual shelf in Sora

ebook features in Sora

audiobook features in Sora

The slides below explain how to add public library collections to your Sora account to greatly increase your access to eBooks and audiobooks. The instructions will cover adding the Newton Free Library, part of the Minuteman Library Network. The last slide includes the names of all the other networks you can also add. 

 

Sora settings

  • Click on the menu icon at the top right in the Sora app, then scroll down to select General Settings.

sora general settings

  • Under Device, I read books, click on "in Sora"
  • Instead of "in Sora", select on my Kindle (U.S. only)

device settings sora

Key combination Function
→ or PageDown and Space Turn ahead a page
← or PageUp, Shift and Space Turn back a page
↑  Show the menu
Show the seekometer - quick links to table of contents and bookmarks
ESC Dismiss the menu or seekometer

 

Sync Audiobooks for Teens

SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+.

SYNC gives participants two thematically paired audiobooks each week. Titles are all available worldwide and change every Thursday at midnight Eastern Time during the season.

Access Details

  • Titles are accessible in  Sora, the student reading app from OverDrive.
  • Sora is available in your browser at soraapp.com, or as an app from the Apple App Store or Google Play.
  • Each SYNC audiobook will be featured in Sora for a window of 7 days.
  • Titles are yours indefinitely once you “borrow” them during their 7-day availability window in Sora.

Visit the Sync website to register by text or using your personal email (NOT your @newton.k12.ma.us address).

See a librarian if you need help or have questions!

How to Get Public Library eCards to Access Hoopla, Kanopy and More

More eBooks and Audiobooks for Pleasure Reading from NSHS Library

  From NSHS Destiny Discover in a browser
1. In the upper right-hand corner, log in using your student ID and password.

2. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

3. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

  From NSHS Destiny Discover on a phone
1. Choose your school  

2. Log in using your student ID and password.
3. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

4. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

 

 

Small collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. After login, you will be able to read title immediately in browser.

In the site box, start typing Newton and select Newton South High School from the drop down list, then username is NewtonSouthLibrary and our library password.

sample titles:
My Antonia by Will Cather
If You Really Love Me by Anne Schaft
Asthma by Wendy Murphy
Discovering Atoms by Margaret Campbell
Latinos Today by Thomas Arkham
Story of Facebook by Sara Gilbert

eBooks for Research

  From NSHS Destiny Discover in a browser
1. In the upper right-hand corner, log in using your student ID and password.
2. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.
3. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

  From NSHS Destiny Discover on a phone
1. Choose your school

2.Log in using your student ID and password.
3. Scroll over book covers to read quick information.

4. Find a title with a Follett icon follett icon ebook e-book or follett icon audio audiobook
(our current collection is small)

 

Large collection of e-books in a wide range of subject areas.
Click on the Passwords tab at the left for remote login information.

Small collection of fiction and non-fiction titles. After login, you will be able to read title immediately in browser.

Find Newton South High School in the drop down list, then use the username and password from the Passwords tab at the left.

sample titles:

My Antonia by Will Cather
If You Really Love Me by Anne Schaft
Asthma by Wendy Murphy
Discovering Atoms by Margaret Campbell
Latinos Today by Thomas Arkham
Story of Facebook by Sara Gilbert

E-books in subject areas: Literature, History, Science, and Health.
Click on the Passwords tab at the left for remote login information.

Newton South High School Library

140 Brandeis Road
Newton, MA 02459
call: (617) 559-6561
nshslibrary@newton.k12.ma.us