NSHS guides: World War II: Rinaldi: World War II

You may need a login and password to access the articles and videos posted here. Click on the passwords tab at the top of the page for a list of database passwords.

If the passwords page is not loading, make sure you are logged in to your NPS Google Drive. For help, contact a librarian.

What is Lion Lookup? Lion Lookup lets you search multiple databases at the same time. Make sure to check the "full-text" option. Use the Passwords tab on this page to find the password information to use from home.
more... less...

Advantages:
Saves time by "casting a wide net" instead of searching individual databases one at a time.
Searches for a lot of different material types at once (e.g. books and ebooks, scholarly articles, newspapers, streaming video, etc.)

Disadvantages
Can be overwhelming--searches that are not specific enough may bring back too many results.
Doesn't search ALL library databases and electronic resources--you may miss some good sources.

Make sure to check the "full-text" option. Use the Passwords tab on this page to find the password information to use from home.

Search the library catalog here.

Two books of note in the library that contain primary sources:

World War II, A Student Encyclopedia. Volume 5: Documents
Encyclopedia of World War II: Political, Social, and Military History. Volume 5: Documents

Google Arts & Culture: Historic Events
Library of Congress: World War II: A Resource Guide
This page lists resources on the Library of Congress website that will be useful for researchers looking for information about World War II, including digital resources and external websites.
Ken Burns in the Classroom: Depression and World War II (1929–1945)
From PBS Learning Media

NOTE: These are very US-centric sources. International primary sources are more challenging to find. Databases also include primary sources -- try Infobase World History and Gale databases, which label primary sources directly in search results, or Resource Types (e.g., photos & illustrations, cultural documents, speeches, etc.) in ABC-CLIO.