NSHS guides: Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian: Resources

Resources by Topic

Overview: Native American Boarding Schools and Assimilation
An chapter from Document-Based Questions in American History: The Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, and World War II, 1920-1945 in the Infobase American History database
School Rules
Read a list of disciplinary rules from a school.
Report to the U.S. Commissioner of Education
Read a report from a government clerk to the US Department of Education following a visit to the Carlisle Indian School in Carlisle, Pennsylvania.

Watch "Indian School: Stories of Survival" from the Classroom Video on Demand database.

Reservations and Assimilation Policies
An article from Indian Country, 1866 to 1933 in the Infobase American History database.
Treaty of Fort Laramie
Read the 1851 treaty between the United States Government and the Sioux, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Crow, Assiniboine, Gros Ventres, Mandan, and Arikara tribes.

"The Trail of Tears" segment from We Shall Remain—America Through Native Eyes in the Classroom Video on Demand database.

American Indian Rights
An article from the Encyclopedia of American Law in the Infobase American History database.
Johnson & Graham's Lessee v. McIntosh
Read the Supreme Court case which held that Native American tribes did not have the right to sell property to individuals.
The Doctrine of Discovery, 1493
Read a translation of the 1493 statement from the Pope which became the basis of European claims to lands in the Americas.

Watch "Subverting Colonialism" from the PBS documentary New World Rising in the Classroom Video on Demand database.

Public appropriation of Native American cultural, religious, and intellectual property
An overview article from the Infobase American History database.
Cultural Appropriation
A topic center from the Gale: Opposing Viewpoints database. Contains overview articles, opinion pieces, infographics and more.

Watch "What is Cultural Appropriation?" from the series The Origin of Everything in the Classroom Video on Demand database.

Indian Claims Commission
A reference article on the establishment of the ICC in 1946, an effort to make reparations to Native Americans, from the ABC-CLIO American History database.
Native Americans: Centuries of Struggle in North America
A reference article that outlines the historical political and legal issues faced by Native Americans, fro the Gale PowerSearch database.
Boarding School Abuses, Human Rights, and Reparations
A journal article that addresses reparations in the context of abuse at US-run boarding schools for Native American children, from the Gale PowerSearch database.
The Thorny History of Reparations in the United States
An article from History.com with a summary of the history of reparations in America.

Native American-Themed Mascots
An overview article from the ABC-CLIO Issues database.
How Native American Team Names Distort Your Psychology
An interview with a scholar who studies the psychological effects of Native stereotypes and logos on both Native Americans and non-Natives, from Politico.com.
The Stereotyping of Native Americans
An essay addressing the use of Native American imagery and mascots, from the Gale PowerSearch database.