NSHS guides: Ottoman and Mughal Empires: Ottoman and Mughal Empires

Accessing articles and videos

You may need a login and password to access the articles and videos posted here. Click on the passwords button at the top of the page for a list of database passwords.

Ottoman Empire

Ottoman Empire
An overview article from Gale World History in Context.
The Rise of the Ottomans
A topic overview from the ABC-CLIO World History: Ancient/Medieval database, covering the rise of the empire through the fall of Constantinople.
Click on "Topic Library" to find more articles about specific subjects.
From Constantinople to Istanbul
An overview article covering the fall of Constantinople to the rise of Istanbul as a center of Islamic life. From the ABC-CLIO World History: Ancient/Medieval database. Click on "Topic Library" for detailed articles on specific subjects.
Islam in the Ottoman Empire
An article from Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World in the Gale World History in Context database.
Ottoman Military: Ottoman Army
An article from Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa in the Gale World History in Context database.

Ottoman Empire, 1350-1683
A map of the empire that shows territory added by year. From the Gale World History in Context database.
The Ottoman and Safavid Empires, 1500-1750
Map. By the later 1500s the Ottoman Empire included large parts of western Asia, southeastern Europe, southern Russia, and North Africa. The Ottomans’ major rivals, the Safavids, controlled Persia and parts of Iraq, the Caucasus, Afghanistan, and Central Asia. From the Gale World History in Context database.
Ancient and Medieval History Timeline
From the Infobase Ancient and Medieval History database.
Major Religions in the Eastern Hemisphere
Map detailing major religions in the Eastern Hemisphere roughly 1500 CE. From the Infobase World Religions database.

From Classroom Video on Demand.

The Ottoman Empire

Click below to watch the full documentary, or click the link above to look at the table of contents for segments on trade, daily life in the Ottoman Empire, Janisaries and Ulema, and more.

Click on the passwords button at the top of the page to get the password for the Classroom Video On Demand database. If you need the password for the passwords page, please contact a librarian.

Mughal Empire

The Mughal Empire
An overview article from the Encyclopedia of Modern Asia in the Gale eBooks database.
The Mughal Empire of India
A topic overview from the ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era database.
Click on "Topic Library" to find more articles about specific subjects.
Islam's Impact on India
An article from Encyclopedia of India in the Gale World History in Context Database.
Empire, Mughal
An article discussing trade in the Mughal Empire, from History of World Trade Since 1450 in the Gale eBooks database.
The Mughal Empire
Islam reached its apex of power, and achieved its greatest artistic and cultural expression in India, during the era of the Mughal Empire. A chapter from Muslims in India: The Growth & Influence of Islam in the Nations of Asia & Central Asia from the History Research Center database.

Ancient and Medieval Asia: 3000 BCE–1600 CE Timeline
From the Infobase Ancient and Medieval History database.
Historic Delhi
This map shows Delhi’s most important monuments from that time period, built by the rulers of the Delhi Sultanate (1211–1526) and the Mughal dynasty (1526–1858). From the Infobase Ancient and Medieval History database.
Mughal Empire
A map of the empire that shows territory added by year. From ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era.
The Mughal Empire of India
A map that shows territory added by year. From ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era.

From Classroom Video on Demand: watch "The Mughal Empire in India," a segment from Indus to Independence: A Journey Through Indian History.

Click on the passwords button at the top of the page to get the password for the Classroom Video On Demand database. If you need the password for the passwords page, please contact a librarian.

From Classroom Video on Demand: In this segment from the BBC production of "The Other Side of the Taj Mahal: Treasures of the Indus," art historian Sona Datta examines how art and architecture flourished under Islamic rule. The foreign kings were liberal, supported scientific innovation, and remain controversial in modern India.